On yesterday's weekly Kick This Show I announced my 2018 MASL All-Star team. With the help of Dante (Dantos) Cilino, Soccer Santino and Soccer Salvatore we picked our 2018 favorites. We also picked this years rookie of the year, coach of the year, coach of the century, best fans, top owner and our favorite team photographer for 2018. All ten players coincidentally played for the Rochester Lancers with 5 of them in this years playoffs and 2 of them definitely in this years final and possibly a 3rd player depending on today's winner at 5pm on MASL TV with the San Diego Sockers visiting Monterrey Mexico against the Flash.  

Players include Joey Kapinos, goalkeeper for the Baltimore Blast, Joey was laying on his couch watching MASL TV when he received a call from Blast GM Kevin Healy after the Vanzella injury. Joey reported to the Blast the next morning and played 9 games helping the Blast make the playoffs. Kapinos played in 2 playoffs wins against the Silver Knights and was named the Kick This player of the game in both matches. Joey and Andrew Hoxie are in the MASL finals. 

Robert (Roberto) Acosta of the St. Louis Ambush made the official MASL 1st Team All-MASL with 49 blocks. Jake (the snake) Schindler helped the Silver Knights make the 2018 playoffs with his amazing play. Earthquake Jake, had 7 goals and 9 assists with I assist in the playoffs. Stephen (Stefano) Basso of the Harrisburg Heat only played 9 games this season. The Heat struggled after Basso's injury. JP Reyes of the Florida Tropics also left the turf early with an injury. JP's absent hurt the Tropics in their late season playoff push. Chili Farias of the Monterrey Flash made the list with his 9 goals and 22 assists. Chili helped Monterrey advance into today's semi final against San Diego. He had 3 huge playoffs goals against Soles.

Mauricio Salles makes the list in three positions. Salles played all over the field for this seasons Tropics team. He was second in points with 19 goals and 22 assists despite playing a more defensive roll. Andrew Hoxie, "the big smooth" also helped the Baltimore Blast make the 2018 playoffs with his 16 goals and 9 assists. Mustache Mania continues throughout Baltimore with men, women and children wearing the Hoxie stache.

Forward Joey Tavernese led the Syracuse Silver Knights with 28 goals and 26 assists. Joey also had 2 important assists in the playoffs. Antonio Manfut led Rio Grande Valley with 20 goals and 8 assists. Antonio quickly became a huge fan favorite with his speed and his unique style and look. 

KICK THIS! MASL 1st Team All-Stars. 

  •  GK- Joey Kapinos (Baltimore Blast)
  •  D- Robert Acosta (St. Louis Ambush) 
  •  D- Stephen Basso (Harrisburg Heat)  
  •  D- JP Reyes (Florida Tropics) 
  •  D- Jake Schindler (Syracuse Silver Knights)
  •  M- Chili Farias (Monterrey Flash)  
  •  M-D-F- Mauricio Salles (Florida Tropics) 
  •  F- Andrew Hoxie (Baltimore Blast)  
  •  F- Antonio Manfut (Rio Grande Valley)  
  •  F- Joey Tavernese (Syracuse Silver Knights) 

The Kick This! Rookie of the year coincidentally also went to a Lancers player- 

Michael Cunningham of the Syracuse Silver Knights who played 8 games. 

Coach of the year based on team budgets and schedule went to Ryan Hall of the Syracuse Silver Knights. Ryan and his Knights had an impressive 13 and 9 record this past season. The Silver Knights gave the Baltimore Blast a battle in the playoffs.

This next Kick This! award is only given every 10 years. Danny Kelly the coach of the Baltimore Blast is the Kick This! Coach of the Century. Danny and the Blast will compete in the MASL finals for the third straight year winning the last two titles. 

The Owner of the year was a tough one. I would of gave to Tommy Tanner of the Syracuse Silver Knights but every time I see Tommy I have flash backs of him yelling and screaming at me at my first and only playoff win as an owner with the Rochester Lancers. Tommy had more veins popping out of neck than my 90 year old grandmothers legs. I ate so much of his spit during his screaming, I felt violated. 

This year's Owner of the year goes to Ed Hale, the owner of the Baltimore Blast. Hale and his dream team of Danny Kelly and Kevin Healy will be playing in the 11th of the last 12 Pro Indoor Championships. Ed and his 92 year old mother never miss a home game supporting his team and Ed flys around the country supporting his boys in the playoffs and championships each and every year. 

Most cities in the MASL have great fans. Milwaukee, San Diego and Syracuse are three of my favorites but this years Kick This! Best Fans award goes to the Baltimore Blast Fans! The same fans have supported this team since 1992 with generations of the same families never missing a game no matter what arena they are playing at. 

The Kick This! best MASL coverage site goes to Turf & Boards. Sydney Nusinov and Greg Suttie doing an amazing job covering our sport. Michael Lewis from Front Row Soccer joined the sport later in the season and we appreciate all the coverage.  

My Favorite award this year goes to "The Official Unofficial League Photographer" Lewis Melcher. Lancer Lewis has covered our sport since the early 90's. His photos are art work that he shares with players and fans throughout the country. 

All Kick This! Award winners will receive Free VIP Passes to the new Rochester Soccer Museum. The Museum located in Rochester NY will open July 4. 2018 and will be absolutely free to all visitors.